Ensemble Polyharmonique

DE - Alexander Schneider (primus inter pares)

Ensemble Polyharmonique is a collective of professional singers from Europe's versatile EARLY MUSIC scene. Renaissance and Baroque vocal music forms the core repertoire of the ensemble. Taking into account historical performance practice, the ensemble combines ideas from the German and Franco-Flemish vocal culture into lively poetic interpretations. The basic ensemble consists of 6 vocal soloists a cappella or accompanied by a basso continuo. In addition to the traditional, well-known early music repertoire, the Ensemble Polyharmonique is dedicated to the discovery of unknown works from the 17th and 18th centuries.

The international appreciation for Ensemble Polyharmonique will resonate in a special way during an exclusive concert for  INTRA MUROS FESTIVAL.

Polyharmonique- 2 credit Christian Palm.
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon

Alexander Schneider - Primus inter pares speaking:

We are delighted to be among the first to experience the wonderful Intra Muros Alden Biesen festival. As a German ensemble, it is a great honor to be able to present our singing here. We specialize in the music of the 17th and 18th century and try to sing it as it probably sounded at the time.


Antonio Rigatti-Giovanni Rovetta-Francesco Cavalli-Alessandro Grandi-Natale Monferrato - Ignazio Donati - Claudio Monteverdi

Ensemble Polyharmonique: 6 singers - SSATTB
6 musicians - 2 violini, harpa, tiorba, violone, organo

Deus in adjutorium - Domine ad adjuvandum me festina a6

CCATTB & basso continuo e due violini (1623)

Psalmus 109: Dixit Dominus a6 octavitoni                                                CCATTB & basso continuo e due violini (1623) 
Concerto - O ducissima Virgo a1                           
tenore solo & basso continuo (1643)

Psalmus 112: Laudate Pueri primo a4                                                     
ATTB & basso continuo e due violini (1642)

Concerto - Quam pulchra es a6                                                             
Due soprani & ATTB & basso continuo (1625)

Psalmus 121: Laetatus sum a5    
CCATB & basso continuo e due violini (1626)

Concerto - O beatissima Virgo a2                             
soprano/alto & basso continuo (1669)

Psalmus 126: Nisi Dominus a3                        
Due soprani e basso & basso continuo e due violini (1640)

Concerto - Audi coelum a6                                        
Due tenori e CCATTB & basso continuo (1610)

Psalmus 147: Lauda Jerusalem a6                           
CCATTB & basso continuo e due violini (1639)

Hymnus - Ave Maris stella a3          
ATB & basso continuo e due violini (1656)

Canticum - Magnificat a6                                               
CCATTB & basso continuo e due violini (1650)                                                                                                                                                             
Antiphona Mariana - Salve Regina a5                                                     
CCATB & basso continuo (1646)


Ignazio Donati (1570-1638)


Ignazio Donati (1570-1638)

Giovanni Antonio Rigatti (1613-1648)

Giovanni Rovetta (1596-1668)

Alessandro Grandi (1577-1630)

Giovanni Rovetta (1596-1668)

Monferrato Natale (1603-1685)

Giovanni Antonio Rigatti (1613-1648)

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)

Giovanni Rovetta (1596-1668)

Francesco Cavalli (1602-1676)

Francesco Cavalli (1602-1676)

Giovanni Antonio Rigatti (1613-1648)

Ensemble Polyharmonique

Joowon Chung, soprano
Hannah  Morrison, soprano
Alexander Schneider, alto & primus inter pares
Johannes Gaubitz, tenore
Sören Richter, tenore
Matthias Lutze, basso

Martyna Pastuszka, viool
Adam Pastuszka, viool
Magnus Andersson, tiorba
Maximilian Ehrhardt, harpa doppia
Klaus Eichhorn, organo